Showing posts with label Hospital/Doctors/Midwives. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hospital/Doctors/Midwives. Show all posts

Saturday, 18 October 2008

Baby Jaan Anna Banana


Well, the Radiographer seems to have over-reacted, according to the consultant Mr Williams.
Apparantly, Jaan just needs to be discussed in clinic on Tuesday and we'll take it from there. Williams has seen the scan, and is not freaking out. 

Hurrah! 

We can all just chill till we hear what to do next.

Meanwhile, Jaan is pretty happy, enjoying life and all it has to offer him. Here he is with his little pal, Anna Banana.

Wednesday, 15 October 2008

Update


Health -

Well, the Radiographer seems to think there is an obstruction at the place where Jaan's kidney reaches the bladder, but she can't see what - so I reckon we need another scan on a different machine with a different lady! More tests are in order, probably sooner than originally planned, as his kidney is still swollen - could be because he is growing, could be because of an obstruction - it's still too early to do anything more than monitor him closely. He is only 2 weeks old after all. Please do keep him in your thoughts and prayers. If all goes well, he will just be fine and keep growing strong and well. If he needs treatment, I hope we find out what and how he needs help soon. His doctors are capable people ... but the hospital system is very disorganised, and it does not seem to matter that he is 'in the system' - the system itself is slow and flawed, complete lack of communication, no one takes responsibility etc. Nothing new for me to see, but it is hardly comforting from a parents point of view when this is the best that is available anywhere ... 

We are staying positive, keeping Jaan's home life as happy and peaceful as possible - he is very happy and calm. Every week, when we go to hospital, he has a bad time, blood tests and ultrasounds etc, but then he comes home and life is good again. We are always with him at hospital, cuddling him and comforting him through his tests. It is hard, but he is as happy as can be, which is what counts. 

Activities -

Jaan sleeps and feeds a lot - we leave him to it otherwise! He is meant to sleep and sleep and grow while he sleeps, apparantly! I wish he could play more .... but he is so small!!! I know I have to let him be :) 

He has recently started crying a bit at night - can't settle himself, we've been feeding him too often in the evening and it has been hurting his digestion - OOPS!! Well, now we know! So back to 3 hourly feeds. That should help me too! He was getting very 'sucky' - needs his Dummy more. 

Iain is back at work, as of Monday, and has been coming home at lunchtime to see Jaan, and back home again at 5 pm. Lucky us! We only have to be apart between 8:00 and 12:00 and then 12:30 - 5:00. Not bad! Once Iain goes back to work after lunch, Jaan and I try and sleep in front of the TV, watching Deep Space 9 and Star Trek the Next Generation on Virgin 1. That is, if we are not out for some reason. Sometimes we have things to do! Jaan has a busy schedule. 

Tomorrow for example he has his hearing test, so we will go to that early in the morning, and then at 3 pm he has Baby Group to attend - some local ladies meeting up with their newborns, we met at our flat last week, and we're meeting at another ladies' tomorrow. We were expecting the Health Visitor too ... but will probably have to reschedule that visit as we don't want to miss seeing the babies! 


Tuesday, 7 October 2008

Jaan's First Weekend :( in hospital



Baby Jaan went in for his kidney scan on Friday, and ended up being admitted to the ward for observations - kidney infection, one kidney ... all sorts of dangers. Of course I had terrible pain to deal with still (in recovery with hardly any pain meds because of breastfeeding and because of my poor gut ...) so it was not fun!

We stayed in all weekend, took care of Jaan, fed him etc ... but managed to get some photos too as he developed so much in the few days. It was a scary time, but he is a joy to care for. A happy, peaceful, calm baby - gives us hope!

Sunday, 5 October 2008

Baby Jaan in Hospital


Well, as many of you know now, Jaan is not very well. He's in hospital under observation - no need to panic just yet!

I'll try and update the blog so Jaan's loved ones can keep abreast of his progress (I think I can do it by text or at least at the hospital on the console by my bed). We love him so much, and he is such a good, brave, wonderful baby - he is coping so well with all the tests and being in hospital.

The real tests and monitoring start today/Monday. Basically he has a few issues with his kidneys - it is too soon to tell if it is a serious issue needing lots of treatment, or if it is just something to keep an eye on just in case.

Of course we hope he is just fine, and hope to take him home again in a week or so, till ten, we are stuck in the PICU at Addenbrookes. Luckily that is just 5 munutes from my parents' house! SO we have a nice place to shower, eat, sleep - not that we leave the hospital much!

Please keep him in your thoughts and prayers - he needs everyone's good vibes!!

Please don't phone us though as we don't like to leave him to check voicemail, and we are not at home at all. Plus, phone calls mean we have to leave hospital to charge our phones! Please do text us, email us and Facebook us - we are so happy to have him, are so proud of him, and so in love with him, but it is also so hard to watch him in hospital, so hard to feed him, rest, take care of myself as well ...

The Good News is:

  • He is feeding beautifully - an excellent feeder. He is being breastfed exclusively.
  • He is very happy and content.
  • He wees and poos just fine - that is a very good sign.
  • He is in no pain.
  • He plays, looks around, watches us, 'reads' his shapes book - photos soon!

Much Love

Nadiya (and Iain)

Well, as many of you know now, Jaan is not very well. He's in hospital under observation - no need to panic just yet!

I'll try and update the blog so Jaan's loved ones can keep abreast of his progress (I think I can do it by text or at least at the hospital on the console by my bed). We love him so much, and he is such a good, brave, wonderful baby - he is coping so well with all the tests and being in hospital.

The real tests and monitoring start today/Monday. Basically he has a few issues with his kidneys - it is too soon to tell if it is a serious issue needing lots of treatment, or if it is just something to keep an eye on just in case.

Of course we hope he is just fine, and hope to take him home again in a week or so, till ten, we are stuck in the PICU at Addenbrookes. Luckily that is just 5 munutes from my parents' house! SO we have a nice place to shower, eat, sleep - not that we leave the hospital much!

Please keep him in your thoughts and prayers - he needs everyone's good vibes!!

Please don't phone us though as we don't like to leave him to check voicemail, and we are not at home at all. Plus, phone calls mean we have to leave hospital to charge our phones! Please do text us, email us and Facebook us - we are so happy to have him, are so proud of him, and so in love with him, but it is also so hard to watch him in hospital, so hard to feed him, rest, take care of myself as well ...

The Good News is:

  • He is feeding beautifully - an excellent feeder. He is being breastfed exclusively.
  • He is very happy and content.
  • He wees and poos just fine - that is a very good sign.
  • He is in no pain.
  • He plays, looks around, watches us, 'reads' his shapes book - photos soon!

Much Love

Nadiya (and Iain)

Sunday, 28 September 2008

So NOW it is time!

So since I last wrote, have seen Annabel on Friday, and today seen Sally - the two community midwives. Have had a sweep each time, am still not really particularly effaced, and the baby oscillates between about 3 fifths and 2 fifths in and out! So no obvious signs .... not that there is any such thing as an obvious sign ... 

Baby can come any time, as before. Sally said sometimes there is no sign and those are the babies that just come. She also said tonight is not a good idea as no midwives are free - the on-call homebirth midwife is sick! Tomorrow would be good, or Tuesday! 

LOL. 

Well, we'll see. 

They do keep finding protein in my urine - could be nothing, could be bad news ..... oh wish I knew why there is protein in my wee. Sally is chasing my lab results from last week ... 

Not sure if inducing Tuesday or after Tuesday would be best ... I guess will find out on Tuesday. 

On a more personal note, we have been having a great time, Iain and myself - nesting a little, wandering about Royston enjoying the Arts Festival (very good!), watching Paula & Stu's play (very good!! They really are very talented), receiving calls and messages from friends and family, watching movies and TV, hanging out, sleeping and stuff. It's nice. It's everything we could want .... the baby moves about just as before, all day - I do get a bit paranoid at times, but he seems fine. Waiting is not a problem ... except for his risk as my baby, the baby of someone with impaired glucose tolerance .... that is the only problem, I can't know how safe he is or for how long ... 

Saturday, 20 September 2008

8 Days to go ... OH REALLY???

Woke up early this morning, wondering whether to have a soak in the bath ... I knew my in-laws would be stopping by on the way to the airport - to drop off my Mother's birthday pressie and to pick up their post. They would not be staying as Iain's Mum has a cold ... and I must not get infected right now. But still, I wanted to at least look at them and have them see my bumpiness! They have missed so much of the pregnancy .... 

I never made it up and out of bed with enough time to have to decide on a bath, but I was feeling good - happy and mobile. 

A few hours went by, I sorted the CDs and DVDs with Iain - FINALLY so the boxes can go down to the garage, and I have been putting music in the Mac's iTunes, deleted pregnacy podcasts etc. Am all set for Motherhood LOL! By the time the morning was well underway I realised I am VERY uncomfortable - the baby appears to be way low down now or something - I actually can't face walking too far on my own. Iain went and got the car's mapping done - car still needs bigger injectors and then the LPG conversion SHOULD work well ... finally, right now it's jerky and unreliable and we are still using petrol a lot. Anyway, he came back and said we need the injectors doing, it's provisionally set for Thursday ... LOL I laughed a lot, it was so funny to hear him say that - I had to tell him, if the baby is here by then, we'll probably need the car around, and if the baby is not here by then he will probably come then, and the car cannot go to have the injectors done!! LOL. 

Anyway, we walked down to get fruit together as it is market day, and that was a journey and a half! It took ages for me to walk, but it was also good to walk, I need to keep walking. It helps. 

So we are gonna go to KFC later! 
Maybe the baby will come soon. 

The signs or lack or signs are boring really, as they are largely unreliable and unreadable data - no direct correlation with any actual time for the birth or indication of progress. All I have to go on is a general feeling -- and my general feeling is the baby is on his way, maybe not this weekend, but soon. I feel uninterested in actual contractions and pains and timing and stuff because of the unreliability and ubtrackability .... no way of actually interpreting any of it. Shame that, I enjoyed tracking my sugars, checking my temps when TTC etc - it was great looking for patterns. No suck luck now. 

Am not anxious, am fine with the wait, am enjoying my day - it is sunny outside, Iain is home, he is putting boxes in the garage for me, our flat is pretty much baby-ready. 

Thursday, 18 September 2008

Under 10 days to go!!

So we had our appointment we dreaded so much yesterday at the Rosie, where the big bad OB was gonna tell us when Baby has to come ...

What a nice surprise - we saw a Dr Hackett, and he was extremely civil and respectful and reassuring. He reassured us again about the baby's kidneys, and we assured him right back that we were not worried either. Will wait to know more after the baby is born, and wait till we actually have something to worry about ... as far as we know, all will be well anyway and we'll never have to worry about his kidneys, which would suit me just fine because I am sure I will find many other things to worry about!!

After that, Hackett talked about my GD - how was I doing etc, and as it is still freakishly well controlled and even getting EASIER to control, he turned to the baby's scans and his size and amniotic fluid levels, blood flow to him from me etc - and all of it is very good, has been all through. So the Dr said we don't need to worry about him yet, you both look very healthy, no need to talk about induction yet, lets see if he can come by 40 weeks. Maybe induce him just before he is due if he has not come yet. We can decide next week after the 39 week scan. 

Rah!!!! 

I am happy enough with that. I have a weeks peace, and I feel so at peace now! The acupuncture and reflexology I had definitely has got things started, as I have contractions now, on and off, and the period-pain kinda pain is still going on in the background. Hackett felt my tummy and said the baby's head was 2 fifths in my pelvis and 3 fifths was still out for him to feel - pretty good as he was not anywhere there before - I thought he had moved down a bit and he has. Of course it means nothing in terms of when will he come out ... ditto the contractions, I can have them on and off for weeks ... but to me, they are all signs that things are happening, and I trust my body and my baby to do all that needs to be done in good time. 

I have acupuncture and reflexology booked for the second half of next week, and Sarah gave me some homoeopathic stuff last night to start taking. Will see how it all goes. I want to enjoy this week, as of course next week I may well be under pressure to induce. 

Am interested to see how the baby is doing by Tuesday. I do want to see him soon ... and he will be here soon, one way or the other. 

We also went to Sarah's last night for our Doula session, saw a video with some positive births (Russian ones!) which was lovely, we had a good talk with Sarah, and made plans, clarified things I need to ask the midwife, and we did some hypnotherapy - a fear release that was pretty powerful, and it is one I feel comfortable with now. The fear was about the horror-induction-hospital scenario - much of which I have learned to deal with, with the hospital's help and Sarah's help, Iain's support and my own hard work. It really helps to have my friends' encouragement too ... I did want a tribe for myself and the baby and I appear to have a tribe of sorts ... disjointed though it is. Modern life, eh? I have so many people to hold dear in my heart after the past 9 months ... such a contrast to when I was 17 and had so many people to be wary of because of things they had done or not done ... 

Have come a long way!! Good thing too, little Baby Jaan deserves a lot more than I had to offer him a few years ago. 

So THE PLAN NOW -

I have a to-do list:

  1. Take Sarah's Homoeopathic remedy for 3 days Thu-Sat, take 3 days off and have the 2nd dose Wed-Fri.
  2. Tuesday is a big day - have the scan, early in the morning, then reflexology before lunch (hopefully at the Cricketers with Iain!! as Alwyn the reflexologist lives next door pretty much ... ) and then we can go hear what the Doctors have to say about the scan. Maybe the baby will come that night anyway.
  3. If not, I have acupuncture on Wednesday. I guess Thursday or Friday would be the induction day of choice for the hospital ... Baby is not really due till Monday 29th ... maybe they do a Sunday night start and he can come on Monday, be ready for his scan on Tuesday ... That would be ok with me ... I dunno, depends on the scan and how hard they press me. Depends on how I feel too - Baby is getting very heavy. He is lying somewhere which is probably good for coming down ... but its not nice for me to walk down the hill, or get up from bed/sofa. 
  4. I have no fear as such, I am happy he is coming. I made a decision  many years ago to do this, and have been training for this time all my life - literally since I was a little girl myself. I did the best I could always to get to this point, did not actually always do the best thing - ignorance!! - but have compensated as much as I could in the last year, and have definitely done my best, my very best for the first time in my life. The only improvement would have been perfect meals at every meal and 3 hours exercise every single day - not possible with all the balancing I have had to do. So that's a moot point!  So he will be here, and I will do the best I can to bring him here safely and calmly and happily - not just for me, for my own happiness, but for him, for his life - it starts on earth as he comes out, and its really important how that is. Every sign points to all good things, and I love those signs. 
  5. Am seeing the midwife tomorrow - she should be here at 10:00. I need to ask her when she would want me to call her, how long she would take to get here, and how can I be sure it won't be Sally-with-attitude rocking up. 
Iain's gone out for his last night out at the cinema before Baby gets here! Am glad he's getting the chance. I've been nesting and tidying all day! The cupboard under the sink in the kitchen and the new over-the-fridge cupboard are all re-organised and stocked up - I even have the birthing-day biscuits in tins!! Chocolate in one, gingernuts in another, my krackawheat in a third, the rich teas in the last one - LOL!!! Must not eat them yet!! They are for the people who come along .... We have a load of the breadsticks with the parmesan and olive oil in them too, which I love. Not sure if I will be hungry before or after Baby ... or what I would even want to eat, but it feels good to have measurable carbs in the house!! 

I cleaned the bath and the tiles ... I think we need stronger stuff for the tiles ... that will have to wait, now is not the time! At least it's clean. Then I sorted through my jewellery and stocks of soap and bath stuff and moisturiser and it is all boxed up now ready for the Narnia cupboard, thank goodness - I have all I can use for the next few months out and ready. Baby's stuff is all out too, where his stuff is meant to be. His clothes could probably do with re-sorting ... I dunno which outfits are smallest any more as they were washed by colour obviously, not size. I still have one load I can do, and his gorgeous nappies have yet to be washed. I'll wait to do them. 

Just the CDs and DVDs to do - we just have the 2 Bennos in the study now and they need to be sorted so one has the overspill of DVDs and the other has the CDs we want up here, and the rest have to go down. The baskets and boxes we have up here need to go down ... Iain can do all that and we'll have a clear room - in every room!! And I can just chill, and chill some more!  


Wednesday, 17 September 2008

38 Weeks + 3 days ... am hanging on to the joy of having the baby with me

Well, the ticker says 1 week and 4 days left. 
I do know it's not an exact science, and I did ovulate and implant with some delay - I know that because of the records I kept myself and the very early scans when I had those pains. There is no reason to think all that was for nothing and the baby will come before 40 weeks is up ... his 40 weeks may be the hospital notes' 40 weeks + 5 days! 

I doubt they care about my timeline though, I am being treated with as much respect as the system can allow, but that cannot extend to actually accepting what I think I know when it is totally outside whatever it is that is the norm in their world. It's not personal, it's just one reality squidging along next to another. 

I do feel squidged though, and cross that I have to listen to such a lot of stuff just so I can get the information and advice that I DO want. Today we will go in to the Rosie and hopefully see Miss Charlotte Patient, the Obstetrician in charge of my case there, and she will, I hear, tell me when my baby needs to come. She'll also plan the birth she would choose for me. I am interested to know more about such a plan. I would rather know, and come to terms with it, and work out how best to do what I need to do. I would like to know her reasons for not just waiting, or just leaving me alone. I would like to know if my baby's scans have revealed anything about his size or weight that is relevant to an early induced birth. I'd also want to know if a sweep would be a good idea now. 

I'll be very cross if we are strung along for another week, I am sick of going in there, the games they play with moving goal-posts is insulting. I would rather have honesty. It is unnecessary and very rude. Their protocols don't change, I would rather just know what they think. 

So what is 38 weeks like? 

Physically I am achey, just in a band around the base of my bump, and my back opposite that space. The bump is heavy and of course my muscles are lax there now. I can feel my hips and pubic bones ache and move about a bit, as they should do. I don't put a lot of strain on these bones, or my tummy muscles -  none of the pain is strong, none of it lasts more than a few seconds, it really is nothing compared to what I am used to, pain-wise. It is boring as it is discomfort, but nothing that is giving me a sign that things are happening. 

I am still pooing more often than usual - which has been going on for about a month, and I see that as a sign that things are rearranging and contracting within, even though I feel very little of this. I guess my pain threshold is very high. 

I can still walk, bend all the way down to pick something off the floor, lift my legs to take off nail-polish, moisturise etc, although I have to take my time in order to avoid injury/loss of balance. I don't always want to do any of these things, but that's another story! 

We tried the birthing pool the other night and I want it all the time now - I didn't even realise I had aches and pains ... until I got in!!! They melted away and I loved it. Iain thought I would. Am looking forward to using it. 

I ache most at night, and after lying down for a long time, so mornings are not that nice now. It's not terrible - but it's not a nice way to wake up. 

Emotionally I am very happy about a number of things -
  • Those closest to me have been making a big effort to support and reassure me, and help me enjoy this last stage of pregnancy, which is very much appreciated. 
  • Iain and I are very much together on what we want and what we need to do for the baby, we are preparing for the birth, and I would not want to do this any other way, so I am glad to have him. Sarah is being immensely supportive, her advice is very good, and she is helping me remember to see every option for what it is, something I am perfectly capable of doing ... but as we all know that is never a guarantee that the person will actually do it! 
  • I have been thinking about my options carefully and talking to some people, not just Sarah. I've had reassurance from her, from Iain, from Beverley Beech, the AIMS chairman whom I emailed, from the Acupuncturist Vivien, Julie who I did yoga classes with, Chris and Julie (my friend Julie!) and even from Rafi who called the other day - I don't think I'm crazy or being irresponsible or taking unnecessary risks. Neither do they. I have been listening, and trying to really try and hear what these carefully chosen people think ... I don't want to have made up my mind and stick rigidly to an idealised scenario as I don't believe that is useful or appropriate in a birthing situation. I am happy and confident that I am doing my best, and that so far, all appears well. 
  • Our home is just lovely - sure there are still a few bags and boxes to go down to the garage, and we didn't finish our list of tasks - but the floors are nice, the walls are nice, the Narnia cupboard, even without a door is great - our shoes and my bags are all on the shelves and we have space to put other stuff - wonder what will end up in there ... (I don't want Iain spending 'spare' time on a door! We can hang out instead!!).
  • The baby's corner in the lounge, his 'nursery' has a nice feel to it, I think. It's only his cradle, his changing station and the breast-feeding chair my mother used with us 3 .... but I have saved space for Baby's swing, playmat etc for the months to come. I like the space. I hope he will too. 
  • Even the study looks nice - despite the boxes we have yet to remove, and despite the modifications we have yet to make ... it will be even nicer soon.
Basically, we know how we want it all to look soon, but we also know plans could change once the baby is here - it's his home too and with such a little home, like ours, we are happy to take our time and get it just right. 

However there are sadnesses too - 

  • Pressure from the hospital has been getting me down. The kidney thing is not really something to worry about, and I don't worry or think about it, it is just a scheduled thing to deal with post-birth. One of many things. And I am very happy that I have not been bombarded with pressure and scare-stories regarding all that, the hospital has been open and forthcoming with information and support. The pressure is all about birthing early and making me feel like a bad mother if I want to wait. The pressure is in being there ... week after week ... waiting in their disorganised, badly managed disarray, feeling pressurised, tired, bored and hungry, wondering why on earth anyone would willingly have a baby there. Psychologically it is always a big blow. I don't look forward to it - I am never sure who I will see, what will be said, there is really no reliable pattern, it is all set up to scare, disconcert and coerce. The fact that they try and treat me with respect is appreciated, but I'm not stupid, and can see what it all is ... and where I fit in ... and it's not nice. 
  • I do feel as if the only doubts and fears in my mind have been pushed on to me by the hospital system - we have taken as many steps as we can to minimise this problem - we went and had a long LONG session with one of the midwives and made a plan for birthing there. I am happy with the plan, I mean, it's still not my plan as such to birth there, but should I get there, I am happy with that plan. I don't like the lack of confidence my Community Midwives are showing. They would clearly prefer it if I was the Rosie's problem .... if I was going there for sure. In an emergency situation I could well end up at the Lister, which would suck because I have never been there. I dunno if they can follow my Rosie Plan. I don't see what else I can do - we have made peace with every possible location, we have made a plan, we are encouraging the baby to come and preparing ourselves as much as we can, we are open to membrane sweeps, even open to induction with all the methods the hospital recommends - it's a sliding scale of less-than-ideal, but I really, really do believe we will know what to do, and just want information and professional recommendations - I can't stand it when the pressure gets piled on as a routine thing - WHY??? They have spent months watching me, and talking to me. I refuse to stand for the crappy pressure - it sets me back so much. 
  • Other people's sadnesses have always got me down, and there are sadnesses around me, which seep in through my skin. I can't change things for other people, I know that, I don;t even want to any more like I used to. I feel bad for my part in making other people unhappy - and I am sorry to say I have made more than one person's sadness worse recently, wither through my own preoccupation with my baby & the resulting insensitivity to their issues, or because I cannot spend any of my energy on their problems - one situation in particular, I am not sure, but in some ways the people concerned seem to feel I should either be wallowing with them in misery or somehow give them some sunshine so they have some respite - and to be honest, they are in such a pickle, I feel I need to keep my pregnant self and my innocent baby well away ... it's too much, it's beyond me, and I think, actually, beyond any happy resolution. Sadnesses like that are poison, they seep in, congeal around one's heart, lungs, stomach, gut and womb - and I have to stay well, have to be okay, I have so much to do, to keep the baby safe now, and to help him thrive when he comes out. 
Physically there have been highs recently - 

  • My sugar levels have been phenomenally good, and so easy to manage - this is a sure sign - telling me what I need to do - trust my body, all will be well with my numbers on B-Day. They have confused me a little as Simmonds was warning me about them RISING at this last stage, not going down. I have been eating food with sugar in during my meals as part of my meals - including sugary fruit, chocolate and biscuits. Not huge amounts, but certainly normal servings, and my numbers are great even after 1.5 hours. This is not usual for someone who is meant to be such a freak. 
  • The baby moves about every day, all day. He stretches out his leg, he turns his back/butt about once in a while, I got a few sharper kicks outward (unusual) when I had Reflexology yesterday - it was definitely making contractions happen, which must have thrown the baby! The day before that I had Acupuncture, just a short session to hopefully get things started, and he did respond to that too, moving about a lot more, and then turning himself this way and that (moving down maybe?) over the later part of the evening. Well, am still not in labour, so lets see. 
The downsides have been hardly any practice contractions ... that I can feel, so I dunno how things are going as such, not that Braxton Hicks' tell you when your baby is coming ... so on the one hand who cares, on the other hand, I have nothing to focus on as such, and monitor and try and speed up or whatever - I dunno, I guess it's not like it would be a comfort or a help if I WERE having lots of contractions ... 

I have been focusing on breathing, on visualisation, and trying to stay stress-free, at least as often as I can be. I know it is simple, and the best thing to do, it's more powerful and proactive than all the other things I could do - such as sew, tidy and do laundry like a mad thing, cook and cook and freeze and freeze, socialise and stuff. I am not doing much of anything other than staying close to where I want to start my birthing, taking care of my body and my spirits as best as I can, trying to counter the sadness and frustration, the stress of the situation - it should not be that way, and people are wrong to pile on the pressure. I am strong, I know I am, never more than now, but I don't know the limits of my strength, or the strength of my failings/weaknesses, so who knows how things will work out?


Tuesday, 2 September 2008

The 36 Week Scan

This was not an easy day at all. It was kind of marred ahead of time - it was intended to be a nice day out for me and my MIL, then Iain too ... I expected just good news and reasonably good food .... I had my POPS study scan at 11:30 in the morning, then the Growth Scan for the antenatal team at 2 pm. Iain took the day off to be with me and the baby. 

The first scan was fine, but the baby's left kidney didn't look like it had been draining fully, kidney looked fine. The POPS people don't have my records or a point of reference, they just collect data, and so the midwife doing the scan said she'd let the scan lady know for the afternoon, which she did.

We met Claire and Martin from our Antenatal Classes in the food area, and chatted away with them till it was time for us all to go to our appointments. They are nice people. Claire had had good news - her placenta previa is no longer an issue, the placenta has moved up, I am so pleased for her. Really hope all goes well. 

I was pretty calm about the kidney, but I was chatting a lot, it's hard not to just worry - but really there was nothing to worry about at that point, as far as we knew all was well. 

The 2 pm scan showed that the kidney looks healthy, and the amniotic fluid levels are fine, and though the middle of the kidney is a bit swollen (hydronephrosis) this is probably what happens to loads of babies - a pipework issue that resolves itself before birth. There is nothing to be done ahead of the birth, no reason to have him early, we just need to scan him after birth - a few days after, when he is rehydrated. Maybe he'll need antibiotics, maybe he won't need anything, maybe he will need some procedure later. 

The sonographer said she needed her supervisor to see, and she did. Same comments. They could not find his right kidney - just the puffy left one! So I dunno where the other kidney is ... I guess they just could not see it. Anyway, off they went to talk to the Paediatric Consultant Mr Lees, who happened to be in clinic that day across the hall I guess. He said he would see us next week for a detailed scan, and we need to talk to the Renal Dr. 

Great. 

Way to scare us ... I am impressed with their efforts at efficiency in this case - and actually, apparantly we are being seen so soon as they happened to have a slot - I realise it is very unlikely that there is a serious problem, such as a really defective kidney, or long term damage - his kidney itself looks healthy after all, and there is plenty of amniotic fluid so they are working.  All that fluid means his lungs should not be under-developed (the amniotic fluid is necessary for lung development which is a key task of his about now). So far so good. No reason to doubt him, or his development. Of course, loads of UTIs when he is tiny would mess his system up, and if whatever it is does not fix itself, it will need to be fixed, and it is important all that happens. 

I am upset that he will have to have tests at the very least, really soon after his birth, very intrusive and upsetting, and if he needs antibiotics his gut will suffer greatly. 

Iain and I had a tough two days, it really did feel like a tough parenting situation, and I guess no big decision will be any easier really, ever ... from now on, as they will all be about the baby/child. We are three of us now, as sure as if the baby were already with us here. 

We also had a long chat with Dr Simmonds, who 'wouldn't' risk having the baby at home ... he raised the spectre of the mythical dead baby ... as Doctors love to do, and before seeing him, the Obs Registrar said nice things about my sugar levels and said he would recommend continuous foetal monitoring but did not anticipate any problems for me, and didn't see why my birth would not be totally uneventful - but that whatever my sugars are, they are controlled with Met and exercise and diet, and that does not change the fact that there is something wrong with me. So you never know what the risk is. This made me feel like shit, made me feel really, really bad - so I'm a freak, no matter what ... I'm defective and frankly, a bit of a cow to be selfish enough to put a baby, another person in my crappy, defective, useless body that never works ... 

Coming after the perfect baby who now can't drain his left kidney revelation, and coming before seeing Simmonds, it was a hard thing to hear. 

I was tired, my sugars were messed up with the hospital food, the stress, and the waiting in the heat ... I was feeling really bad, and crying. That made Ruth, one of the midwives spend some time comforting me, which I appreciate, and Simmonds spent a long time with me, again, which I do appreciate. 

I asked about figures - what are they for GD patients and outcomes at the Rosie - how many of these GD mum's babies need help because of insulin issues at birth, how many of those had numbers like mine - how much good have I done? Is it likely to have been enough? Anyway - get this - there ARE NO FIGURES for GD women, and only 1 years numbers on Type 1 and 2 diabetics ... ????!!!! 

Teaching hospital.
One of the best in Europe he told me.
Audits - that's what I was thinking, they MUST have to audit the service - they spend a shedload on diabetes monitoring for every woman who fails the OGTT ... wtf???

I am disgusted really, as I can't make my informed choice based on the Rosie now. 
He did tell me about the best studies that have been done recently on the outcome of treated GD patients ... most notably the HAPO study. He was convinced that it was pretty risky to have a baby with GD ... much riskier than we used to think. 

I looked up the study, he is right. My sugars may well be nowhere near low enough. BUT we have seen how small the baby is - average size. His bits and pieces and organs and limbs are all average. 

My sugars have been so steady, and pretty low ... nowhere near other people. My fasting reading has almost always been low low low. The baby's activity level has not been uber high or super sluggish, he has been extremely reassuring. 

I think these are good signs. I do not want to make decisions based on fear. 

I do have more questions for him about the outcome, the results of that study. I understand that badly controlled impaired glucose tolerance is a worse deal than previously thought, and the threshold is lower than previously thought ... fair enough, I suspected that anyway. But how did I do??? We have tons of data on me .... 

Iain and I are still keen on the home birth. 

I spoke to Kerry the midwife the next day, we need more info on what the hospital birth would be like in order to decide and prepare - we could always end up there anyway, and knowing what the facilities really are (not that breeze through full of complains that they called a hospital tour) and what it would really mean for us ... we need that. Anyway, she said they have a consultant midwife whose remit is to go through all that and help women make a choice. Good. 

Trouble is, the woman had a letter sent to me - arrived on Saturday - saying see you on Monday. WTF - I am not going without Iain. Could the stupid cow not have called me? Idiotic - how stupid are they over there? Waste of paper and postage too. Ridiculous. They have all my contact details and Kerry could have called me. I am NOT going on Monday on my own to be bullied and harrassed when we are already going on Tuesday, together. The letter says we are happy to re-book, well you'll have to, love, bloody cheek!!!! 

Hmmpphh. 

Iain and I also went to the Midwife's clinic at the Roysia Surgery the day after the scan, to talk about the homebirth some more - we are taking it seriously that so many people feel their advice should be 'we wouldn't ...' - Simmonds, the midwife ... they have been caring for me, and they all make the big sad scared eyes .... and issue vague warnings without actual numbers .... They are the only professionals we have access to, and their advice has been helpful in other areas, we don't intend to ignore their advice without consideration. That would not be consistent. 

So Iain had questions - Simmonds' scare tactics had shaken him, which depressed me no end. He didn't actually let the fear take over, thank goodness, and ultimately he trusts my judgement over random fears that don't even belong to us ... which is good to know. We came through this, it was not pleasant, but we came through with no problems, just sadness caused by other people's fears. Our own fears are reasonably easy to put into perspective. They don't cease to be, how can they, but we actually have done and are doing all we can, and all we need to. Nothing is certain - but what we are trying to do gives all 3 of a us a good shot at success and peace surely. 

Having talked and cried a lot the night after the scan, I woke up crying, and Iain did not feel he could leave me and go to work. We decided to get some answers. The midwife, sadly, was Jane ... who is a bit of a character .. does not do home births anymore, and had 2 caesareans herself and is of the opinion she and her kids would be dead otherwise .... so we're not even on the same planet really when it comes to birthing.

Anyway, she was happy to raise the dead baby spectre at will too. I do switch off inside on people who do that. To each their own I suppose, I'm beginning to think the world has 2 sorts of people in ... dead baby spectre enthusiasts (they happen to also be the weak minded with no imagination) and the rest of us (and of course I know babies die, don't be so stupid and go get some self respect while you are at it). 

'Nuff said I suppose, I WAS after some professional advice, and some information I could use ... but her ideas on what happens to a woman birthing ... [a woman in labour I suppose] well, what can I do with all that ...? 

I tried to get something out of it, all I could hear were warnings about a pre-ordained chain of sad, constrained events, none of which has any place in birthing unless someone puts it there, IMO. She also really felt like I was against hospitals, anti-interventions ... 'you'd probably call them ... call them ... interference ...' she said. 

Well, I do call interventions ... er ... interventions, that is what they are, and of course I know at times someone with a drug, a scalpel, some forceps, or something does need to intervene. I am not a fool, and I know as much as a layperson can find out easily about the interventions that are carried out on the NHS. I have had several interventions for goodness sake - the conception of the baby was with Clomid, my Met is a huge intervention, my scans, my supplements, my food manipulation, sugar control - I work with medicine, with the doctors I trust, and with myself. What else can I do??? 

And why does accepting help or asking for help mean I have to buy in to the fear and whole kit & caboodle when it comes to the mega-pack of interventions? Taking Metformin helps me and the baby. I believe continuous foetal monitoring will not. No one else can choose. So let me choose, stop being a baby and sulking and trying to make me feel bad about choosing ... OMG ... why do these people feel the need to make me sad ...? WTF ... playground shenannigans or what?

Am still disgusted, days later. 

Jane said the SOM (supervisor of midwives) would have to come speak to me about risks to me and to the midwives, come see me with Annabel, and maybe a SOM would have to be there at the birth. I said, fine, I don't mind who thinks they need to be there from the midwives side, I may decide to stick with the homebirth plan, or go to hospital, I can't say yet, and it's pretty standard for the SOM to be involved in a case like mine. 

No one has called yet to sort it ... I guess I'll call Annabel on Monday. What a pain ... 

If they are planning to bully me, they can think again. I would like information, and advice on how to do this safely and well .... and I refuse to let people stress me out now. 

As it is the place is not tidy and that makes me stressed out - and we still have furniture moving issues hanging over us ... messing up the whole month. 


Tuesday, 19 August 2008

34 Weeks + 1 Day Pregnant!



Well on the day I became officially 34 weeks pregnant I was having a good old time at my parents house, being pampered and loved and supported by a whole load of Asian ladies - my parents neighbours, family members, friends, and plenty of my Grandmother's friends. I'm about to join them in motherhood - pretty exciting stuff! 

A few of my cousins and friends were there too. It was a really nice day for me. 

Today, I have recovered from all the excitement. I rested all day yesterday. I have an antenatal appointment to see the Diabetic team, Iain is taking me - my sugar levels have been perfect. Hope they have just good things to say. We also have an antenatal class afterwards. 

Here is what I look like now! Baby is moving about a lot - I gather he is on his way down. 

Thursday, 7 August 2008

32 Weeks pregnant - a trying week.


So here I am at just over 32 weeks. That's some bump I have there! Actually, the bump is perfectly ok in size for my dates, according to the midwife. My scan on Tuesday showed the baby too is just the right size - head, shoulders, legs, body etc all the right size, he's average for his age. He weight (they think) 4 lbs and 4 oz. That is about 2 kg. He has a lot of growing to do in the next 7 and a half weeks or so! 

I'm actually not too big, and neither is he - I am not sure what people expect when they see me, but I have had quite a few 'you're huge' comments (nice!! LOL) and wise words about amniotic fluid (I'm carrying a boy and he had a load of fluid around him just in front ..) 

Well, all that aside, here is what I know, based on being in constant contact with my little one - I am absolutely fine, my Metformin, diet and staying active is paying off still. He is just perfect - nothing wrong with him, he is doing very well, specially under the circumstances, he is a constantly reassuring little presence. He moves about throughout the day, still does not hurt me, gets into a comfy position when he needs to. He is really doing his thing, and I feel encouraged to make the effort to make his situation as pleasant as possible - keeping my food and activity as positive as possible, keeping my energy levels as stable as possible, resting and getting up to do things in turn, staying positive when I can and getting help when I feel anxious - Iain and hypnobirthing CDs are my first line of defence ... I know I have more ... Kate is a good person to talk to, as are Chris and Jules - even though they haven't been pregnant, or had GD, they know me well, and I can't begin to explain how supportive their support is. Am relieved I have Sarah too. Once I know what I am doing, she will protect me, help me protect myself. 

Am under pressure from the hospital and the midwife about birthing the baby in hospital ... the reasons are the usual scare-mongery ones - nothing specific for me and my case. I was starting to get worried and scared (not falling for that one though!!) - actually, objectively, there are reasons to stay at home, and reasons to go there, and I need a lot more answers from the hospital side before I can make my informed choice. Yes, there are some special cases where hospital is safer ... I really don't think that is the case with me and my little one right now, and its far too early to say. 

They are obliged to give me the information I need at the hospital, and if they simply do not know any figures or know what they will do to 'keep me safe' then really, they have no clue and nothing to convince me with, which will tell me what I need to know. If they have good reasons, but I don't think they apply to me, then I have my answer. It's completely possible that my situation will deteriorate in the next 7 weeks and their reasons will have sound and relevant basis - in which case they need to have a very good plan in place for me or I will not be happy. 

We just need to be organised, even if it just means organising a very good early chunk of labour at home and then ship the whole show over to Addenbrookes. I'm not about to let anyone mess things up for my baby. My job's to protect him, and I'm the only one who will be with him all through - the hospital staff will come and go, most of them wont know me at all. Even Iain might get taken away from me, then what? No one can take responsibility for what happens but me (unless they knock me out or render me immobile, oh horror). So I just have to be responsible. 

My symptoms are once more interesting!

I am so tired so easily, and dizzy - not for long, mind, just briefly, and a little rest, a little yoga or a little breathing sorts it all out. 

I have been extremely lactose intolerant - the small amounts of lactose remaining in my system have not been overly painful, or painful for long, but the problem is almost out of control ... am managing to control it with eliminating the dairy and taking the good bacteria and staying at home so I can watch what I eat. It will take at least till the weekend before I feel ok again I reckon, and another week or 2 before I am good again. 

Well, it was good while it lasted, enough is enough. Even the baby can't make the lactose problem go away. 

The diabetes team were understandably less than impressed with my sugars for last week. I had been out a few times and had forgotten my Met dose a couple of times - I had a bad reading every other day. This coupled with the fact that the baby's belly is a bit big for his age means you-know-who has been chowing down on the extra glucose in my system. I feel so bad, so guilty and greedy - I love the baby, and am not particularly selfish or greedy when it comes to him, and yet I was greedy and selfish enough to eat all that. I chose to eat that stuff - sure, no one around me helped me stay away, but really, it's not their issue is it, it's my problem, the food, and it's my baby. I don't see the point in regret and guilt in this case when I have SO MUCH TO DO - he has not exactly suffered yet - doctors are not worried. They will worry if I don't turn this situation around. 

The diabetes team (oh the patronising arrogance!!) have given me a week to show I can have perfect numbers still with Met and diet alone ... and my prize? I get to carry on with more 'you can't do this for ever, [smirk smirk]'... My punishment should I fail? I will be 'put on insulin'.

Oh cheers, they own me now do they? 

Anyway, I understand that if I can't control all my levels myself I will need help, and that could well mean insulin, and it WILL work better than Met alone, but I need to know they have some sort of method of balancing the insulin during the birth - it's not easy, it's a slippery slope IMO - and randomly having a couple of drips attached (good luck attaching 2 drips to me btw!!!) with some moron who knows nothing about my brand of 'diabetes' is not something I can consent to. 

Who are these people that think this is a sound plan??
Can't believe women just agree to all this ... what are they thinking ..... 

Anyway, here's what I'm thinking:

Yippee, my baby is just the loveliest baby ever, you should have seen him on the screen when they scanned him, so sweet! He's still a blobby little so-and-so ... but that's the ultrasound for you, he's not really like that. What he's really like is a cuddly, curious little soul, who these days likes to stretch out a bit when he has a moment, ad tries to swim to the surface to be near his Daddy when Iain talks to him or near him. He wakes up around 5:30 in the morning, and seems to just like being up and about - no specific issues!!

We love him very much. 

Friday, 18 July 2008

29 weeks and the 5th day comes to a close ... I have new hair ... I am the baby's mummy!

Here I am, almost 30 weeks pregnant - I will hit 30 weeks this weekend. I've lost some weight - some fat at any rate. I have the amazing shrinking boobs ... bizarre. My weight is basically stable. The ultrasound on Tuesday revealed that the baby is almost one and a half kilogrammes in weight. Well done him!!! And I have managed not to put on a kilogramme in the last month ... I have managed to stay reasonably stable, oscillating around 80.5 - 80.7 kg, which is what they want. 

First time they weighed me in early pregnancy I was 70 kg, and they wanted me to put on no more than 15-20 at the most ... then when the GD thing happened, all of a sudden it was, Oh, you need to not put on more than 12 kg if you can help it! (WTF???!!!) 

So at 80 kg about 6 weeks ago ... I was told I only had 2 kg to play around with ... I know who's going to provide the sanctioned 2 kg ... not me!!! Young Midgley would make me very happy if he ends up a healthy 3.7-4.2 kg baby. 

The diebetic team in the antenatal clinic want me to lose weight while the baby gains weight ... Nice!!! 

Way to pile it on the poor pregnant lady. Hmmpph. 

Anyway, the absence of junk in my diet now is having the desired effect. Good thing I love beans and can follow a food plan!!! I'm definitely less tubby, and the baby is just the right size according to the scan, so it is very gratifying - I can see it working in every way. 

Darned hard work though! 

I had my haircut today, as you can see, so now do I look like someone's Mummy? 

My little one moves about a lot all day now. Getting a bit more intrusive - I can't just let him move and carry on with what I'm doing sometimes now, he is that distracting! 


Here I am wondering if he will look like me. Haven't really thought about that very much ... assumed he will look like Iain. Of course, he may well have my hair .... maybe we can match ... Lol!!! 

I decided at the salon today that Baby Midgley is DEFINITELY not going to Cuts by Carlo like his Dad and Grandfather ... don't think I could stand to have his hair butchered thus. He'll go to Anderson's with me ... Costs about the same for a kid as far as I can see. 

Monday, 30 June 2008

Cord Blood and such things

hmm ... this stuff is quite confusing, and am not sure what we'd choose if we had the money/choice ...

Here's my initial web trawl: The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists have a thing or two to say.

Here's something from the BBC website saying we shouldn't bother.

These people came up on google - New England Cord Blood Bank

These guys, Cells4life seem quite paranoid ... and don't do public banking ... The NHS are happy to have the blood ...

Wednesday, 25 June 2008

Seeing the Midwife - 26 Weeks

Went in to See Annabel as well as Dr Seymour today.

Not a lot to report wrt Seymour - we talked about getting my Osteocare on prescription, and Aspirin ... She did me the aspirin, but the Osteocare isn't an NHS drug, so she'd have to give me chewable calcium (euurrgghh!! NO WAY) instead, and get this - that calcium has no vitamin D added or magnesium ... pretty pointless for me then ... need the D to absorb the calcium! DOH. Nice one ... again.

I had meant to ask Dr Seymour for help with my misery - some days its just misery and it comes and goes, other times it is far darker, far more sinister, and I am sinking, not that slowly, and (clearly) surely. However I felt so good today I didn't bring it up. If I can have good days still, I don't think anything she can offer me is appropriate. Hope I am not shooting myself in the foot here.

It took ages to see Seymour, seeing Annabel was a far easier task - she was pretty much on time! I had walked to the surgery, am very proud of that. I had a load of medicines including test strip for the glucose meter and loads of Metformin and Omeprazole to collect too. Stearns had a big plastic bag for me! OMG I'm my father!!!

Anyway, we talked about how I was doing, she measured me (I am 2.5 cm over my weeks ... was 28.5 cm and am 26 weeks pregnant). Of course, as Annabel put it, the measurements are gross (pretty pointless) so never mind (Oh, why do them then?????)

Told her I failed my GTT and was testing my sugar 4x a day and eating carefully, new diet etc. Told her my scans are arranged and we'll find out more that way. I asked about how the scans will help - they can't tell the size of the baby anyway, and it will vary each time (depth) surely ... so it's not even comparable ... how can I judge whether to switch to hospital from the scans? She said all we will look for is rate of growth ... Well, again, to my mind we CAN'T see the actual rate of baby's growth if the scan can always be a whole lb out ... And how can just one scan a month tell us anything at all?

A bit half-arsed as far as plans go, I think. I'm expected to take their word for it based on 3 scans?? If you're gonna do it, do it properly - scans, experienced midwife poking about checking size with me NOT being flat on my back (gives totally the wrong impression about baby's size) and some sort of effort to teach me to monitor what the baby is doing closer to B-Day ... all that would possibly give us a semi-reliable picture of what is going on in there. Hmmpphh.

I asked if I HAD to be in hospital now, or if I HAVE to be in hopsital if I need to use Insulin shots. Her opinion was it depends - with isnulin, I'd be better off in hospital as they will put the 2 drips, and they can't do that at home (er, why?) and they would check my sugars every hour (er, why can't I do it at home?) and if need be, I'd have insulin (er, can't we do that at home too? I'll bet this hourly check will just be a pinprick test like my home one, and the as no one will be measuring my actual insulin levels ... the insulin dose they give me will be based on a guess, made accdording to the amount I have been injecting anyway ... so why not just do that at home..?) She also said they only stay an hour or so after the birth when it's a home birth and if I had him in hospital, they would keep me and him in 24 hours (OMG!!! NOOOOOOOOoooooooo) and monitor him all that time - pricking his foot etc etc.

OMG nightmare. I'll bet they'll drag him away from me all the time too.

I don't see, right now how that scenario is any safer and better. I still feel having him safely and calmly at home, having the space and privacy to breastfeed him immediately should stop any sugar problems for him (unless he has a serious sugar issue - but we'd already know how well I had managed to control my sugars and if they were really bad leading up to his day, I'd go to hospital. If the levels stay as they are now, I don't see the problem). I think the most crucial tool we have is the breastmilk. I can collect some before he comes and have it ready, and he can try and have the ready stuff as soon as he's out. We can test his blood just as well as anyone. Or the midwife can.

Anyway, Annabel did say that it's not unheard of for well controlled insulin dependent women who only use the shot a very few times a day to have the baby at home just fine. The difficulty is in women not wanting to eat, getting tired etc etc, labour being long and difficult ...

Again, my best chance of labour not being long, difficult and stressful is being at home, and my best chance of keeping my sugars stable is being by my own kitchen, eating my own food.

So I feel I need to keep my sugars down at any cost, and do my utmost to stay off the insulin. Really careful food and lots and lots of exercise. The harder I work, the least resistance I'll have to face from the hospital.

I'm miserable though because I haven't done enough, haven't trained enough, got fit enough, been disciplined enough ... I do so much ... as much as I can ... it's never enough though. Look at me - I've already gained 10 kg and I have GD.

3 months to go.

Thursday, 19 June 2008

Gestational Diabetes is here to stay

Well, I've had a few days to try and get used to the idea, and It has been hard. I have the odd less-than-ideal reading but largely the Metformin is keeping my sugar levels at least at the limit of where I should be, or better. 

Psychologically it is another story. It's not that I know 'too much' or have ridiculous unrealistic fears about diabetes. It's not that I am focusing on the bad things that might happen to my baby, or to me. I've been learning for ages, before the baby was conceived, since the baby started to be, and specially now that the doctors are talking to me about it all. I know my chances - better than many people because I know what I need to do, and I'm getting what help I can. I also understand my risks for this pregnancy, and the risks to our son, and it saddens me, makes me feel reckless and depressed and desperate. Knowing I have 3 months to make as big a difference as possible under the circumstances is a blessing. Knowing I found out as soon as it was possible to diagnose it is also a blessing. However the prospect of living with it and trying to manage it for 3 months is daunting, and depressing, and to be honest I don't WANT to deal with it. I don't want to be strong. I want to be weak, and cry all day, and eat eclairs and dissolve into a messy blob of a woman with sugar coming out of every pore, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers on the DVD player, ice cream by the bowlful, plenty of Frappuccinos (keep 'em coming) for the next 3 months and then somehow have the baby yanked out and presented to me with a 'there, there, see, it's all ok, you didn't have to do anything love'. 

Of course I'm not stupid enough to think that fantasy is anything other than a twisted nightmare. Being a blob now will only mean I will actually turn into a blob, and hang on to the diabetes post-baby. So can't do that ... Pointless. How am I going to raise the baby if I am sicker and sicker for sure? Eclairs aren't really what they used to be (except, perhaps at Betty's, and we don't live in Yorkshire), Tescos eclairs don't really do it for me, nor do M&S eclairs ... so no point trying to eat any. Will accelerate towards the time when I'll need insulin that much sooner if I eat pig out on eclairs, and to be honest, at that price, they really would need to be very good. Don't want to add insult to injury. No reason to wholly abandon self-respect and style just yet ... plenty of time to let all that go when I am covered in baby poo and sick in a few months.... Seven Brides for Seven Brothers has been a pregnancy-long 'craving' - a non-food craving, but a persistent one. Easily remedied. Have ordered it on Play.com. Will be Blessing everyone's Beautiful Hide, Wherever they may be in stereo in no time. If that doesn't cheer me up, really, what will???? Ice cream is trickier ... can't say it's a good idea, even if I do make some myself. Have to give that a miss, even though it is generally reliably yummy. (Unlike eclairs). New dietician's advice allows me plenty of fruit and cereal though - obviously not Sugar Puffs, or Coco Pops, or even my new faves - Dove's Farm's Chocolate Stars ... what I am now allowed is more the Bran Flakes, Shreddies, Weetabix and of course the always-sanctioned Porridge .... HOWEVER that is still a far more extensive range of cereals than I have had access to in the past year, easy and yummy and most desert-like out of all my allowed foods. Can't complain if I can have fruit too. Of course I won't have just cereal in the morning ... will continue to base the meal on protein ... but since smaller means are now what I need to try, and because I need to cut back on the protein and increase the carbohydrate carefully, and spread it out (so I keep producing some insulin if I can, and only eat as much as my insulin levels can accomodate) ... a slice of bread or one Weetabix (no sugar) here and there seems a cheap, easy, stress free, and crucially MEASURABLE way to find out what I can do.

Of course I am sad, wouldn't you be? Of course I am desperately lonely in all this ... no one else is going through this, and everytime someone says 'it will be alright don't worry about it' I just shut down inside - what does that mean anyway? Go eat cake, you can't hurt your baby? Give up now, you've lost already? Bury your head in the sand and it won't happen? Well, obviously cake can hurt MY baby - he'll have to make loads of insulin to process it for me, bless his tiny heart. I can't give up, and ignoring it amounts to giving up. Burying my head in the sand is the worst thing I can do, and it's generations of people who just let it happen that has made it impossible to avoid getting GD ... despite all my hard work. I worked so hard on myself, on my food, my fitness. All for nothing. I couldn't outrun it, what I did was not enough and I couldn't do more. Maybe some mothers could. All I know is I tried, every single day, and I have failed so miserably, so completely. How can I be LESS vigilant now, having already failed? It's no longer a battle to avoid diabetes, I've lost. Now it's a battle to stay of insulin, and it doesn't look like I will win that battle either, so when/if I fail there, I will have to fight the next battle, and the next. I hate it I hate it I hate it, and I hate doing it on my own. Oh I know Iain is here, and I could not do what I have to do without him, but he is alone in his battle to help me. The mundane, desperately boring everyday drudgery of meal after meal, exercise session after exercise session, test after test, appointment after appointment miserable experience of trying to beat something more powerful and more devastating than anything we can do. It's a boring, boring process. The sheer drudgery of preparing yet another cheap, nutritious, perfectly balanced meal out of a short list of foods I can eat as well as afford .... oh my God. It was bad before, now its so much worse - more meals. Ever tried sustaining a food plan like mine ... keeping it palatable, bearable, interesting if possible? I couldn't say it is character building ... I'd say it is soul destroying, in a special way. Of course I am happy that I feel better when i am eating right for my illnesses ... of course I would rather be approximately 'well' on my diet rather than ill with a half-eaten plate of chocolate cake in my paws, washed down with pineapple juice..... But it's a sad, lonely way to live, and incredibly dull to eat ones own cooking so much, even if it IS my cooking, which I dare say could be so much worse. 

Iain is confident we will be successful on some level. I don't really have any reason to believe we will win many of our GD battles, all I believe is that I have to try. 




Wednesday, 11 June 2008

GTT results

Well after a lovely aqua yoga class I hung out a bit and had some food with some of the other ladies and Amanda the teacher. Turns out she has an atrial fibrillation and has to have a cardio version, like asap. She's stressed and depressed about it, poor love, I'm sure she'll be ok though, I hope so anyway. She is amazing and has already taught me so much in just a few weeks. 

I need to send her the phone number for the pool in Royston .... she wants to set up a class for teaching babies to swim there. Yayy! 

Anyway, after that, went to hang out with Mum, and we had a nice browse through the wools and stuff for the baby at John Lewis. I called the hopsital before seeing Mum and got my GTT results. I didn't pass the test - Bummer

I spoke to Kerry, the midwife who specialises in diabetes, and she had the glucose results to give me, not the insulin results. My fasting glucose level was 5.7, one hour after the drink it was 10.8, and 2 hours later it went down to 8.1. The NHS like my levels to be below 7.9 ... so my their reckoning I am diabetic at the moment. [to get my numbers in 'American' ... ie if you're one of my American pals checking my numbers and bewildered by the single digits .... these numbers are how we measure them in the UK, it's a different unit - multiply by 18 to get the corresponding result in the US, so my fasting was about 102, my + 1hr was about 194, and my + 2 hrs was about 146. Not good, eh?]

I was a bit upset, even though I did expect to get this result. I wasn't, like, "it's all over" - but I am well aware both of how lucky I am I know what's happening and know what t do, but also of how serious it can be .. how serious the consequences can be. I am wary of the hospital, and what they will try and scare me with ... like I said, they 'need' to manage the risks they think they can do something about ... doesn't mean they are actually able to make my life any better or the baby's life any safer. I need my wits about me, and my will power and strength and need to do the best for my baby. I do get a lot of blank faces, or exasperated disbelief from people ... most people don't seem to get my attitude. I'm aware and proactive and it reads as me being negative or scared or worked up over nothing to a lot of people. Says more about them than about me I think ... Of course I have fears - my own problems are causing problems that my poor baby has to deal with. I'm not broken by them though. Although I am sad. I didn't want this to happen. 

Burying my head in the sand or crying all day won't help though. What will help if I find a way to keep eating carefully despite the extra train ... I AM more insulin resistant now that I am diabetic - I can feel it and I want to eat things I shouldn't. It's hard, diet control is not quite enough now, and who knows if the Met will still be enough in a few weeks. I don't see how added insulin would help if I can't use my own insulin ... so am unsure what I can do other than become as insulin-sensitive as possible (lots of drugs, exercise and the right food) - and I know it will be hell, not just because of the extra cravings, but because everyone around me (apart from Iain) buys into the 'you're pregnant, eat all the pies, go on, indulge yourself, you deserve cake' model of pregnancy. Hmmmm ... I wonder if that works out well for any mother, but I can't think about that right now. I can only deal with my pregnancy and my baby's chances.  

I really am not looking forward to having to eat even more carefully. People are kind, and praise me for my efforts, saying I am doing far more than other people. It's really important to have that encouragement, as it is ghastly to have to deal with the food issue now .... pregnancy is tiring and demanding anyway ... I do really thrive on that sort of support, but I know it's not on a scale (the eating), and just because other Mum's may be only on crackers and cookies (poor things), that doesn't make the repercussions of any mistakes I make any less problematic for my little one. 

I know even if I somehow manage to do it all perfectly (which is impossible) - the risks will still be there, reduced perhaps, but still there. That is a depressing thought. On the one hand I have  a great plan, the best support from Iain, plenty of other support from the people and medical staff around me (differing levels of support, but they all mean to help, which is a lot). On the other hand, it's all a bit hit and miss however far I take it .... 



Tuesday, 10 June 2008

GTT today

Went in bright and early to Addenbrookes (Iain drove me) for my GTT. 

It went reasonably well ... the nurse worked out how to get my blood after a few tries. 

I wouldn't do the test if it's just for glucose, I requested Insulin tests too, and they were happy to do that. So 6 lots of blood!!! 

The sugary drink was basically sweet lemonade, a good idea!! Better than Lucozade. 

I don't get the feeling they understand IR at all ... makes me less confident about their advice once the results are in ... (tomorrow!!)

I knitted part of the Baby's pappoose blanket and everyone kept smiling at me! 

Felt rough all night afterwards though .... grrr ... was all alone too, Iain was at Mostyn's (pre-Le Mans trip) and Tiffany will arrive tomorrow from Paris. She'll stay while Iain is away. 

Friday, 30 May 2008

22.5 Weeks already!


Hmm ... have been slack with the updates

Here's a photo though!

Last night Iain suddenly noticed my bump has changed - apparantly, the whole bump is higher up than before - who knew!!! I thought I was a bit off balance at Yoga .... The baby also kicked like a good 'un all through Heroes last night. Iain had a good time being part of the experience! Normally it's just me, baby and lots of kicks! I think the baby basically slept most of the day as I walked about so much. He woke up when I had settled down for the night!

I had a nice time yesterday as I went in to Cambridge for my Yoga. My mind was still reeling from Wednesday's chat with my supervisor. He wants me to cut right back on the studies and academic commitments as clearly, I can't cope ... I just can't produce the work I want to, pregnancy is too exhausting. I don't really mind, I mean, gestating a baby is pretty big and keeps me well occupied ... not having the stress of deadlines and essays and conferences is a relief ... but of course I am also gutted that I have failed to achieve my goals. I know I set them pre-pregnancy ... but still! It hurts!! 

I am also reeling from the emotional fall out from Tuesday's hospital appointment. I met a Dr Charlotte Patient (Yes!! Dr Patient!!). She's a doctor that Sarah recommended as well, and I am pleased to have met her. We talked about managing my PCOS and potential GD. She understand my concerns and was pretty supportive and helpful for a doctor ... but obviously, as she explained in fact, her priorities are different to mine - obviously we are both after a healthy me and healthy baby at the end of it all, but for her it's all through medicine and monitors, for me it's a bit different. If I need monitoring and medicines, yes I want them - but I don't want what I don't need, and I don't trust them. Have no reason to. I am keeping an open mind, but I can't just leave it all to whoever happens to be on duty when I turn up for my appointments. If I do have GD, I want to know, and I want to manage it as best we can so we can have the sort of birth I want for me and the baby. I also want help staying as well and fit as I can so that I can really be there for the baby after he's here ... and Iain of course, when I'm ready to take care of him again, after I've worked out a thing or two about the baby! Worst nightmare is being ill by the end of the pregnancy, being ill when baby gets here, and ending up with diabetes so soon. I am working on this nightmare being less of a 'nightmare' - I mean, it's not like I can't handle it. What most people can't grasp is that my fear is not that I can't deal with all of it, I fear it because I know I can deal with it, I know what dealing with it to my satisfaction will mean, and I don't want all that extra stuff in my life. I just want some time, some space, even if it is short-lived, of just me and my little family, with no illness, no drugs, to tests. Just a bit of space. 

Anyway, Dr Patient was prepared to try and find me an alternative to the GTT (Glucose Tolerance Test) ... but in the balance I agreed to the 24th week GTT (it'll be on the 10th of June) as I think the impact on the baby will be minimal if anything, and actually it is the quickest way to see how I am doing with the insulin levels. I don't really see how I can pass it ... and I worry that just because my IR will show up, they will label me diabetic. Well, we'll have to see when the results come in. If I am not diabetic, I am certainly not going to let anyone insist that I am! We'll have to see how on the ball these guys are ... again, I am cross about them being so lame about most things ... I'd prefer to be able to trust them. 

If I pass this GTT I will be very pleased, and won't have to see anyone about it all until 29 weeks when I'll have to do another GTT to make sure I can still pass. If I fail and have GD now, we'll move on to monitoring and checking my sugar levels and stay on the Met unless it's not working. If I get GD they will want me to have the baby at the Rosie in the doctors unit (OMG noooooo - the smell alone ... barf). Well, cross that bridge later I guess. For me it all depends on how the baby is doing in the next few months. It's not their baby, and as far as I can tell, they like to manage risks that they can manage within their budgets and with their shiny equipment - not manage risks according to how risky each risk is ... It's the nature of practicing medicine I suppose. Whatever. Not really my problem how my doctors spend their time. 

So I've been attempting to eat for my IR, and doing a lot of walking and yoga. Maybe more swimming is in order ... If I fail this test I want to really fail it, having done what I should, not fail it because I blatantly ate all the pies. I have to say, the walking and yoga is coming along just fine - my food has not been 100%. Again, I am unsure if the extra hunger is because of the baby (good) or because my IR is worsening (bad) - which is another reason I agreed to do the GTT. I wonder if they do that HOMA reading thing too as that would be perhaps more useful than the GTT ... I'll ask. 

We do have a big weekend, as we're off to Mondi's tonight and I dunno what we are eating ... but then one meal won't really make a big dent or cause a huge spike will it, in the grand scheme of things? It's more important I get things 'right' for myself in the week leading up to the 10th. 

Studying is vastly simplified. I am to transcribe the final Robinson manuscript and start getting myself organised for the great withdrawal, so that on my return things will be all in place. I feel good about those tasks. Michael wants me to work on my notes, I'm to start with Woodward's big book and do the notes afresh, and then show them to Michael. Wish we had done that 2 years ago ... 

I have SO much knitting to catch up on!! I even have sewing to do now. Might as well get cracking, as the baby will be here soon.